Loading Screen: CeraTopz

26 Apr

I’ve always loved gaming.

I started playing video games when I was eight. The first game I remember playing was “Mixed Up Mother Goose” on my PC (which was deeper than it was wide, and probably weighed 20 pounds). You had to move through the 8-bit environment and bring back missing pieces of nursery rhymes from one screen to the next. The three blind mice were with Jack Sprat, Old King Cole was hiding with the Cat and the Fiddle, and Humpty Dumpty was safe and sound nestled with Little Bo Peep. I played it over and over and over, each time finding the escaped characters in a different fable and returning them to the correct window. I loved it. And it started me down the road of really loving the escapism that was afforded from a virtual world.

Mixed Up Mother Goose!

Hugo's House of Horrors - seriously if you haven't played this you need to. And tell him to do something inappropriate - he's a cheeky bastard!

As I grew, the games I played grew with me. From Hugo text adventure games to following trails of blood in Wolfenstein with my uncle, I began to find more and more games that drew me in.

My brother and I weren’t allowed to have console games though, and no matter how much we begged for an NES or SNES Mom always refused. Growing up were family friends with another brother/sister pair of the same age that had a Nintendo and a Super Nintendo. Every time we went to their house we would play Mario World 3, Bubble Bobble, and Chrono Trigger. I was love at first button mash, but we weren’t allowed to own one because the little boy of that family jumped on the furniture, screamed, and was all over the place when he was playing, which meant my mother feared we would act this way too.

Was, and still is, my favourite game of life, ever.

Once we were a little older, we finally convinced Mom that we could handle the responsibility, and a Playstation came home. Introduced to the world of Spyro, Crash Bandicoot, Final Fantasy and Castlevania, my brother and I bonded and battled in a digital world over hours of evenings in the basement together. Thinking about these games reminds me of late nights and the cool air of our basement playroom.

My love for gaming has slowly grown over the years. I’ve spent way too many hours raiding with my Night Elf hunter in World of Warcraft. I’ve spent many a night rolling dice with friends exploring the latest creations of a DM in Dungeons and Dragons. I’ve owned Playstation’s, an N64, a Gamecube and the Wii, and now spend the majority of my time on my PS3. I’m now really considering picking up an Xbox and Kinect, which would be my first venture into the Microsoft brand (honestly who can resist the Kinect? it’s so ridiculously fun!). However, even though I have a long history with gaming, I’m just not very good. And for a while it bothered me that I spent the majority of my childhood addicted to something I’m not very good at. I’ve even avoided the FPS genre just because I knew I wouldn’t be good at it, and as a self proclaimed trophy whore it’s hard to play a game with no chance of getting at least 75% of them.

Gotta catch 'em all!

I’ve given up on that now. I’ve realized that gaming isn’t about being the best for me, but about enjoying the story, the intensity, and the satisfaction of hearing the ding and seeing the icon in the top right corner tell you you’ve collected another trophy. I may not be very good, and have all the platinum’s, but I love it, and it’s part of who I am. It feeds my obsessive inclination to collect useless things. It gives me an escape from everyday, busy life. And lets me pretend, even if for a few hours, that I am capable from saving the entire galaxy from an attacking alien race AND rescuing the princess from yet another castle.

I want to share my love of gaming with the world, and talk to other gamers that love it not because they’re professionals but because they just love it. Our blog will be about the casual love both my husband and I have for all things geeky, and how it works itself into our already hectic household. We would love to hear from others who share the same geeky obsession, and share experiences and ideas with us!

Until next time!

CeraTopz (@Cerajoy)

Follow us at: @thegeekmates

Leave a Reply!

