S.H.I.E.L.D. Me From Avenger Confusion

30 Apr

I have to admit I don’t know much about the Avengers.

I’ve heard of them before, of course, and I know who a few of them are, but in terms of being a team and how they came to be I had no clue. With the new Avengers movie coming out though, I’ve been a little excited about it and so have been brushing up on the Avengers.

I don't recognize 75% of these dudes. And there's like five Iron Mans?

It makes sense why I didn’t know WHO was an Avenger … they change all the time! I mean, look at this image above – how could any regular person keep it straight when there’s been hundreds of different versions of the Avengers?

The movie plot focuses on Nick Fury recruiting Hawkeye, the Hulk, the Black Widow, Thor, Captain America and Iron Man (and to be perfectly honest, it’s Tony Stark that peaked my interest in this originally – yum).

What I like most about the rotating roster of the Avengers is that it makes so much sense when confronting evil super-villians and alien threats to humanity. Think about it – it’s very unlikely that you will have a team of 4 or 5 that is perfectly suited for any encounter imaginable. That’s silly. Being able to swap out teammates depending on what you are about to face is an important quality of videogames, and makes sense that this option would also be optimal for the superhero team as well. Imagine if you had to choose your team for Final Fantasy or Mass Effect at the beginning of the game, and t hen weren’t allowed to change it ever again. It makes no sense!

When fighting something edible, you always want Quina - but that's the only time.

Having the Avengers do the same thing is smart organization of behalf of S.H.I.E.L.D. in my opinion, and so even though it makes the timeline impossible for me to follow or understand, it makes for better defence against the masterminds of destruction. Tailoring your team to suit the needs of defeating a foe and being able to accomodate for some superheroes who might be too old, or injured, or busy with their own arch-nemeses at the time. It also means that everyone gets a break every now and then – which is good, because Tony Stark needs time to be the genius billionaire playboy philanthropist that got him to being Iron Man in the first place.

Also through my internet travels I found this super extensive list of all 116 different Avengers and who in Hollywood should play them. This. is. impressive.

I really think it’s a must-see in theatres, although whether I splurge for 3D is yet to be decided. Anyone else planning on hitting the theatres for this over the weekend? Let’s hear what you think about it!

Pictured above - sexiness, and five other people behind him.

Until next time!

CeraTopz (@Cerajoy)

Follow us here! @thegeekmates

Leave a Reply!

