Why I play a game series backwards

16 May

I was a PC gamer for a long time, and didn’t get any consoles after SNES until we got our PS3. So basically, I’m late to the party, and I got a lot of catching up to do. But I don’t do things in order…

I got God of War 3, finished that, then got the earlier games.

Played Uncharted 2 (before 3 came out), finished that, so then went and got the first.

I got a platinum trophy in Skyrim (yeah I’m bragging), and I have Oblivion waiting on the shelf.

And now I’m playing Assassins Creed 2, because I recently played AC2: Revelations.

And yeah, I’ll probably play the first one last.

It kind of makes the story disjointed, but whatever. I like being all like “oooooh! That’s why blah blah happened in the newest one!” It’s kinda neat.

And after developing a man crush on Ezio in Revelations, it’s interesting to see him while he was younger too. If I was gay, and he was real, I’d do him.

The many handsome faces of Ezio.

That’s all well and good, but the truth is this:

I just like the newer games because the graphics are better.

Seriously, it’s like watching something in HD instead of …. low D. Why would you if you had the option?

But then I start to appreciate the game for more – its storyline, its characters, its gameplay. That’s what makes me go out and get the older versions. Having an appreciation of those things from the newest game probably makes the earlier games much more enjoyable than they would have been if I had played them first.

The newest game hooks me, and then I end up being “sold” on the whole series.

Anyone else feel me on this? Or am I the only one?

anyway,

later nerds!

toniolio

2 Responses to “Why I play a game series backwards”

  1. Dave May 21, 2012 at 11:12 am #

    I can respect that. Now I want to play God of War

    • Tony Ingram June 10, 2012 at 9:02 am #

      Definitely worth playing. Satisfyingly badass.

Leave a Reply!

